50 Birthday Wishes

I’m often amazed at the creativity and thoughtfulness of my friends. Late last Fall my friend D. shared a birthday surprise she was planning for her friend A. who is celebrating 50 years today. My friend D. arranged for 50 of her own friends and family to send a birthday card to A. from various locations near and far.

Although I don’t know A., I happily and eagerly agreed to be among the co-conspirators and decided I would make a textile birthday card. I had a vague notion of what I wanted to create but to my dismay, as the date by which I needed to send the card neared, my idea hadn’t morphed into anything concrete. I was about to just try to run with my initial unformed idea when the appropriateness of “tree of life” imagery struck me. As soon as it hit I did a quick sketch of what I was hoping to recreate with fabric and thread.

DSC_0967

Fifty circles of various size supported and surrounding that tree representing 50 years…some of great significance and others less so. The piece came together quickly with remnants from another project and a  blue cotton dyed this summer.

Then it sat, waiting. I pondered how to quilt it. Generally, I prefer hand-stitching because of the control of where to place stitches but with time ticking on, I decided on a quicker approach of highly random free-motion machine stitching. It also seemed a better choice to reflect the often random and unexpected events that add depth, detail and color to our lives.

I finished the card in a flurry and sent it off in the rush and hubbub of pre-Christmas preparations and hadn’t thought much of it again until today… the big “5” “0” for A. 

So, to A. …Happy Birthday and here’s to many more years of growth and color. 

And to D. …may everyone have a friend like you along the way.

4 thoughts on “50 Birthday Wishes

  1. Awesome Kristi. A friend did something somewhat similar for my friend Rebecca’s 25th. She enlarged a beautiful photo of something special to R, then cut it into 25 “postcards” and gave one to each of 25 friends, who were then to write a special message on the back and mail them to R in New Zealand…she could only see the full picture once all the cards arrived.

    Like

Leave a Reply

