Weekly Photo Challenge: The Sign Says – China

A trip to China a few years ago offered up a number of irresistible signs I couldn’t resist capturing. This first one from a street market in Xi’an (land of the Terracotta Warriors) is a definite favorite though I still can’t figure out why anyone thought this was good marketing.

DSC06299 (2)

While in the Xi’an area I had the amazing opportunity to hike up Hua Shan, one of the five sacred Taoist mountains in China.

My friends and I had heard that many people hiked the mountain at night so they would  arrive at the East Peak in time for the sunrise. Though our reasons for hiking the mountain were not religious we decided the night hike sounded adventurous. We started the 6 km hike at around 7 pm after dinner in Huashan village and arrived after midnight at the North Peak a height of 1614 metres.

DSC06215

To this day, it was one of the most surreal nights of my life.The first part of the trail is a moderate climb with stairs in many places. As you get higher up, the trail becomes steps carved into the close-to-vertical sides of the mountain with metal chains on each side to hang on to. In hindsight I’m glad we hiked at night. If I could have seen in broad daylight the of places we had to climb I think I’d have frozen in place out of fear.

At the North Peak we decided to stop before the Black Dragon Ridge and stay in a hostel to catch a few hours of sleep. Before settling in we sat in the dark on the steps of the hostel and watched people continue their pilgrimages to the East Peak. It was magical and completely ethereal. The quiet voices and songs drifted on the warm mountain air as the lights attached to climbers on the ridge seemingly floated toward the heavens. Quietly beautiful and incredibly moving.

The next morning the sign pointed us up…to the unforgettable Black Dragon Ridge; a three-foot-wide set of steps with simple metal rails or chains and clear drop-offs into nothingness on either side at some points.

DSC06237

DSC06246

The advice before the ridge not to walk and watch at the same time was definitely something to heed…after doing the climb we learned that fatalities are not uncommon.

A stop in Beijing included a visit to Tiananmen Square where the Mao “sign” (okay – I am taking liberties, it’s a portrait) spoke volumes. It was exciting yet unsettling to stand in the square that I knew from newscasts of my youth telling of student demonstrations and broadcasting the image of a sole demonstrator standing up to a row of tanks.

DSC05909

In Shanghai some of my romantic notions of China were confirmed – lovely red paper lanterns. But there they were, juxtaposed against the reality of modern urban China with its Pearl Tower in the background and the spinning Pepsi logo signs lining the street in-between.

red lanterns in wind 2

More signs of cosmopolitan Shanghai included massive video billboards on barges floating up and down the Huangpu River.

video billboards (building and floating)

This last image was on a building in Beijing while the city was undergoing multiple face-lifts in preparation to receive the world for the 2008 Summer Olympics. (I had to make a photo from a video, hence the scroll bar at the bottom.)  I love the use of the word “cheerful” in this sign. I don’t think I’ve ever seen it used on a public sign anywhere else.

Hope these signs cheer you today.

mega cheerful

6 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: The Sign Says – China

    • Hi!!! When I first read this comment I though “Who would write that?” and then laughed out loud when I realized it was you! I hope I did our Hua Shan visit justice from your perspective and that you were slightly entertained by the read. You ever out this way these days?

      Like

Leave a Reply

